I say NO to BULLYING!

I believe in some way everyone has been bullied no matter what age we are in…. I was once bullied when I was in the 2nd grade… She would take my snacks from me and my classmates…. She would even ask for almost everyone’s lunch!  It did bother me to a point that my mom had to come to school to confront her… It’s quite embarassing to share this… but that’s what happened! After that, the bullying stopped…..

There are some of you who know and there might be some of you who might be surprised to hear this fact……  but I was once a BULLY myself… Yes, puny old me bullied my classmates when I was in elementary… and it was for the heck of it!

Bullying can come in many forms in where the victim is affected mentally, physically, emotionally, and socially. In my case, I bullied in the verbal way. I hurled insults and teased my classmates to no end to the point that everyone hated me…. I believe the teachers had no idea because I also tried my best with my grades…. It then dawned on me that if I kept this up, I wouldn’t have friends in the future…. I had to change! But it wasn’t easy because everytime I enter the classroom, my classmates would give me dagger looks… but I don’t blame them for that……

During that time, I started to join our church’s youth meetings and I came to know Jesus who actually cared for me despite how bad I can be….With His help, I changed…. and During my birthday, I invited all my classmates whom I’ve hurt and said sorry…. I thanked God because they did accept my apology and until now, despite the busyness…. we do say catch up when we can….. Plus, let’s just say everyone has just grown up…. ( I think?)…. hehehe… 😀 Anyways, looking back, it’s not a pretty sight nor a great memory that I would like to remember… but it was a great lesson for me to know that bullying or to be bullied is no fun at all! It’s a waste of energy and time… Plus, you don’t gain anything but enemies in the end!

In other countries, we hear that students commit suicide because of bullying…. and to think some ot these reasons are minimal like it’s because of their race, economic status, or maybe, they’re just plain jealous! I looked up bullying on the net and I came across this picture…..

This diagram speaks quite true about the bullying culture…. and most of the time there are only a few who are brave enough to stand up for the victim….. and most are of that disengaged onlooker…. who just don’t want to be involved……..

It’s time to take a stand … Le’ts go hand in hand…. Bullying has got to stop!

I just have something to say to bullies out there…. It’s not worth your time at all! You would look back and regret that you have done this and hurt the innocent ones… Trust me…. I KNOW what it feels like! It’s time to reach out…. clothe ourselves with love and forgiveness… and the world would be a much better place!

2 thoughts on “I say NO to BULLYING!

  1. This is such a good blog ,gel..keep it up..I’m so proud of you in so many ways.. We always joke around each other whenever we’re together..but you know deep inside me, I’m just so happy to have known you..as your friend and co worker in Sunday school before, I’ve seen you grow from better to best..kept that faith burning and you’ll continue to rub that burning for the Lord to others..love u mucho.

  2. Char chi reg… makahilak man pud ta ani… Mwah!

Leave a Reply

