Holiday of Tunes 2012

I have to be honest. I was never a fan of Beethoven’s orchestra or violin pieces. I’m more fixated to his piano compositions such as the well known “Fur Elise”. I was given the opportunity to play on my violin, one of his compositions  entitled, “Sonata No.5 (Spring) 1st Movement.” This duet piece between the violin and piano entangled me into its’ awesome romantic music that I started practicing right away! However, when I heard that I was going to be accompanied by THE “Dr. Ingrid Sala Santamaria”, my nerves went haywire! (If you recall, I have posted about her previously. The link:https://jellybites.wordpress.com/2012/10/01/dr-ingrid-sala-santamaria-golden-concert/)  I didn’t know exactly what to feel. I was excited that I was given the opportunity of a lifetime to play side by side with one of the “GREATS!”, but overwrought because I might mess up in front of her! Hooboy! I told my teacher that I should be the one accompanying her not the other way around! Haha….

I had my general rehearsal with Dr. Santamaria the day before the recital and she was really warm and motherly! While rehearsing together, I was amazed at her sight-reading skills! It’s as if she has played the piece everyday!  She then asked my teacher, Sir Rey Abellana and I to print out the blog I posted about her golden anniversary. Plus, she requested that I should post about this recital and upcoming concerts as well! Talk about having a fan girl moment there! 😉

Here are some pictures of the event , aptly named “Holiday of Tunes”, held at Fu Guang Shan Chu Un Temple: (I’d like to apologize in advance that the pictures are not exactly high resolution and we weren’t able to pictures of all participants. Just ask Sir Rey for copies! LOL! )

DSC02277

DSC02278

DSC02280

DSC02281

DSC02283

This cutie is officially my idol. You think he’s playing “Twinkle Twinkle” Variations? Don’t be fooled because he just played Gavotte from Book 2 and he played it with ease and confidence with great tone quality! Now I know where his future lies!

DSC02285

I’d  like to applaud my church mate! It’s his first recital playing the viola and he did a fine job!

DSC02292

DSC02299

DSC02307

DSC02337

DSC02316

DSC02310

Throughout my playing, I fumbled through some notes because I couldn’t get a hold of my nerves. My bow probably had some vendetta towards the microphone, prodding me to step back a bit further and increase my volume so that people could hear what I was playing. I kept praying inside that I’d keep a straight face and play on.

DSC02323

DSC02321

I’d like to truly thank Dr. Ingrid and Sir Dave (who is an equally talented musician himself)  for keeping up with my playing. I hope I wasn’t too harsh! 😛  After hitting the last chord of the piece and taking a bow, Dr. Ingrid Santamaria smiled and applauded my playing despite my many mistakes and wrong intonations! With that coming from a real life viruoso, I felt really humbled and fulfilled! This is one of the recitals I won’t forget for sure!

DSC02343

To end the program, Dr. Ingrid gave some inspirational message about continuing on in our music because it would help us out through life. Just like Beethoven, though he was deaf, it never stopped him from composing his songs. With that, he became a legend and his awesome compositions are still marveled upon by musicians and music lovers alike!  One of the recitalists was a father and he mentioned that even though he was one of the oldest participants in the recital, he said that you are never too old to learn music! Indeed, music has been a great help to me in all aspects of life. It has always been a part of me. I couldn’t imagine if I was born unappreciative of music! Whenever I am given opportunities to play in recitals or concerts alike, I am always grateful to the greatest musician of all time, Our God! He has given us this gift not for us to boast about how great we play, but through music, remember how intricate and beautiful His creations could be!  Music should not just draw us to the musician, but to the giver of  the gift of music, God himself! 🙂

DSC02357

DSC02370

Congratulations to all the recitalists and let’s not stop playing!

DSC02374

DSC02373

Of course, the event wouldn’t be complete without a picture with Dr. Ingrid Santamaria herself! My mother and grandmothers were delighted! My grandma told me to post this picture in facebook! Haha! 😀

DSC02377

All my gratefulness and respect goes to the one and only Sir Reynaldo Abellana for teaching and inspiring his students, myself  included, to improve in our skills! Thank you for putting up with me!  (Sir Flores is very proud of you, and so am I! Please don’t cry Sir! 😛 )

Also, to those who came to enjoy the music together with us, family and friends alike, thanks so much for your support! We couldn’t have made it this far without you!

‘ Till next blog and Advanced Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year!

Leave a Reply

