Ending 2012 With A Concert

While others were frantically buying Christmas gifts and preparing for the holidays, the Cebu Philharmonic Orchestra, the group I’m presently active in, were busy preparing for a grand Christmas Concert held last Dec. 23, 2012 (Sun.) at SM Cebu. What made this event special? You guessed it. Once again, the one and only, Dr. Ingrid Sala Santamaria was going to play Rachmaninoff’s Piano Concerto No. 2 accompanied by the orchestra.

DSC02452

The event started with the Philippine National Anthem followed by Rach’s Concerto. This very complex piece really challenged my note reading skills. Though we had rehearsed the piece a lot, I still had my dunce moments when there were time and key signature changes as we played. Up to this moment, I am still trying my best to appreciate Rach’s work of art though I know most pianist virtuosos love to play his pieces. Peace my fellow pianists! I believe everyone did a good job though! The event then proceeded as the orchestra serenaded the crowd with Christmas Carols. What made the whole event memorable was when the orchestra played the very famous, “Oppa Gangnam Style” by PSY. I believe everyone enjoyed that moment! The renowned Cebuano Christmas Carol, “Kasadya”, was just the perfect finale for the whole event, as the Cebuanos sang and clapped along!

DSC02477

The Cebu Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of  Sir Reynaldo Abellana and Sir Reydon Encinares.

DSC02459

67980_4940543548918_1267108350_n

14458_4940544708947_1514220693_n

I have posted previously about Dr. Ingrid’s vision of seeing Filipinos, Cebuanos in particular, appreciating music. Well, I hope that performance raised that awareness in the hearts of all who witnessed the event!

DSC02504

A free concert given by one of Cebu’s finest virtuosos, great music, and fun! What a unique way to end the year!

31545_4940556349238_1023056376_n

I’d like to thank my family and friends who enjoyed the music with us, even to those who had other appointments and had to leave early! Your presence was highly appreciated! (Thanks for the pictures too!) These guys really enjoyed the event so much that they told me to invite them to other upcoming concerts!

74060_4940554989204_680758379_n

(Dr. Ingrid, you have made fans out of my family and friends! 😉 Of course, I’d have to be in that fan list of yours too!!! )

DSC02499

It just seemed like yesterday when I first joined the orchestra last year. It still feels all surreal to me that God has given this longtime dream of mine as a gift. With that, I am forever grateful to Him and for the other things He has blessed me this year as He will continually bless us through our lives! May He guide us as we enter another year! Have a blessed 2013!!!

Leave a Reply

