A Romantic Night with Dr. Ingrid Santamaria and Maestro Reynaldo Reyes

A few weeks ago, my grandmother and I had an opportunity to witness a romantic piano duet by none other than Dr. Ingrid Santamaria and her mentor, Maestro Reynaldo Reyes.

The event started with a little introduction on what was to take place. Dr. Ingrid Santamaria was to play the soloist part and Maestro Reyes would play the orchestral part. Their repertoire for the night were Franz Liszt’s Concerto No. 1 in Eb major and Peter Tschaicowsky’s Concerto in Bb minor, Op 23.

Throughout their playing, I was mesmerized at their skills.

IMG_1131

IMG_1125

There were no notes or copies for Dr. Ingrid because she has memorized the pieces by heart.

IMG_1129

As for Maestro Reyes, he arrived with a wheelchair and crutches. But then, I forget his age when he starts pressing on those keys and flipping through his notes like a breath. Talk about “supersonic” sight reading skills, exaggeration intended!

Applauds and shouts of “Bravo!” were heard across the room after their masterful playing and they started answering questions right after the concert.

IMG_1128

Dr. Ingrid and Maestro Reyes have been doing Romantic Piano Duet Concert Tours  spreading their love for classical music for so long all throughout Philippines. I was so glad to be attend such an event because concerts like these inspire me to improve in my craft. Some musician and non-musician friends tell me not to believe in the statement, “Age does not matter.”, when it comes to playing instruments. Well, I beg to differ! A wheelchair and crutches did not stop Maestro Reyes from playing on!

If God would allow me to live up to my 70s’ or 80s’… I hope I still play with vigor and passion just like Dr. Ingrid and Maestro Reyes!

To conclude, allow me to rephrase the statement, “Age does not matter.” to  “Age is not an excuse!”

IMG_1120

To Dr. Ingrid and Maestro Reyes, I look forward to more of your inspiring concerts like these in the future! Bravo!

Leave a Reply

