THE DAY I FELT SMALL – REBLOGGED

I was just browsing through my notes from facebook and I decided to reblog this post to remind me of a spiritual lesson I learned years ago…

THE DAY I FELT SMALL

May 1, 2010 at 6:12pm

Yes, everyone knows my elfin size. President GMA would be psyched to find and meet someone her height…noh? But hey, I never allowed my height to overcome what I could do. I have accepted what the LORD has given me, small frame and all. But what I am about to write is not about my height, but a spiritual and comedic lesson.

Our family was in Manila November last year. We were staying in this hotel. It was also good timing that an international volleyball tournament was going on that day. There were a lot of towering male volleyball players from all countries. You name it. China, Korea, Germany, USA, Spain, Switzerland, Saudi Arabia, and India. Especially India, I’ll never forget! Now these colossal guys are around 6 feet tall. We’re talking “hitting the ceiling tall”. It’s no surprise that people would stare and glance whenever these guys pass by.

Anyways, I was with my family right? However that time, I thought I forgot something in the room during breakfast. So I had to take the elevator. I pressed the up button and got inside thinking I’d be the only one to ride. Then suddenly, the doors opened again. Behold, a mighty throng of these sky-high INDIAN volleyball players surrounded me! I couldn’t budge. I’m not exactly a claustrophobic, but that was the right time to feel that way! That was the right time to feel like a square peg in a round hole. That was the right time to actually feel so puny! I had to look down on my toes or else my jugular veins would distend if I glanced. I mean, one of those guys had to bend his head because he’s too tall for the elevator! Nope, I’m not exaggerating. This is total reality! So there we were, and what a long way to go! They started looking at me and seemed to gossip in their Indian language. Paranoia seeps in. “What are they talking about?” “What are they thinking?” “What a puny asian girl. She’s up to my hips!” “What’s a grade schooler doing in an elevator alone?” Of course, these are only my crazy, so called delusions at that time. Haha! Thankfully, I was the first to go out. I took a DEEP BREATH. Inhale. Exhale. Inhale. Exhale. Whew! That was the longest elevator ride I ever had!

i told my family about it and they buck down in laughter. Traitors! Kidding aside. The lesson I learn here is not about my height but about my pride! I guess GOD allowed that situation to let me see that life’s not about me. The problem with us humans is that we let our pride grow bigger than us, then we start to think we’ve got the hang of it. We forget the GOD who created the universe, who holds us in His hands, who should be taking full control of our lives. That zany moment of my life teaches me to be humble and remember, GOD has great things in store for me and for us, and that we’ve got a BIG GOD bigger than our problems and worries.

So now, my height reminds me to make my pride smaller and smaller while GOD’s sovereignty BIGGER and BIGGER!

Leave a Reply

